Internet Philippines.Com – About Philippines

Pinoy forum and online news directory. Providing help to Filipinos here and abroad about Philippines.

MMDA Bus Segregation Scheme in EDSA: Know Implementation Details

Google Advertisements

This post was supposed to be written last year. It was delayed because the MMDA Bus Segregation Scheme in EDSA was some post that seemed to need more than just the ordinary time that will take me to post an article again here at Internet Philippines blog. So today, as I checked my draft posts I finally found the courage to write about this information. I’ll take a short time researching about relevant information on this Metro Manila Development Authority scheme so I can post a helpful topic.

You can find a comprehensive post about this issue especially if you are one of the affected bus company owners like Claire Dela Fuente or a commuter who got affected here –

In the meantime, I would like to reiterate that the scheme was already implemented and is being followed until today, 2013. Basically, the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) under the scheme will segregate bus stops along EDSA by making them alternately exclusive to “A,” “B” and “C” buses.

Implementation Guidelines: (from MMDA website –

“A” buses are those that ply the EDSA-Alabang route and will only stop to pick-up or unload passengers at “A” bus stops while “B” buses are those that ply the EDSA-Baclaran route and will only stop at “B” bus stops. “C” buses meanwhile can stop in all bus stops.

MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino has advised commuters to check first the markings on the bus before they board.

The MMDA has implemented the scheme as part of its efforts to decongest vehicular traffic along EDSA.
Nation ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

The MMDA has marked the following bus stops as “A” bus stops: (Southbound) Ermin Garcia, Arayat Cubao, VV Soliven, Connecticut, Shaw Starmall, Guadalupe, Buendia Ave., Mantrade; (Northbound) Ermin Garcia, Cubao Farmers, Boni Serrano, SM Megamall, Shaw Blvd., Guadalupe, Buendia Ave. and Magallanes.

“B” bus stops are: (Southbound) Kamuning, Monte de Piedad, Main Ave., POEA Ortigas, Pioneer/Boni, Estrella and Ayala Ave. (Northbound) Baliwag/5Star, Main Ave., Ortigas Ave., SM Megamall, Pioneer/Boni, Estrella and Ayala Ave.

According to the MMDA, more than 3,600 city buses ply EDSA on a daily basis, while another 7,368 provincial buses whose companies operate terminals in the metropolis also use the same highway.

Metro buses are only allowed to use the two rightmost lanes of EDSA, commonly called the yellow lanes.

“With this bus stop segregation scheme, bus congestion in the yellow lane as well as accidents will hopefully be reduced. There won’t be a reason for all buses to fight over one bus stop anymore,” Tolentino said.

The bus segregation scheme in Edsa was implemented starting December 18,2012 and the new bus dispatch system will cover all 3,100 buses plying the route of EDSA.

Tags: ,

Google Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

BSP Exchange Rate Today: